Childrens’ Books

wormwood-mirewebWormwood Mire

by Judith Rossell

When Stella Montgomery returned to the Hotel Majestic cold and wet but exhilarated by adventure, the Aunts were furious. Now they are sending Stella away to the old family home at Wormwood Mire, where she must live with two strange cousins and heir governess. But within the overgrown grounds of the mouldering house, dark secrets slither and skulk, and soon Stella must be brave once more if she’s to find out who — or what — she really is …From bestselling writer-illustrator Judith Rossell comes the thrilling and magical sequel to her multi-award-winning novel, Withering-by-Sea. (Ages 9+)

STYLE: Hardback | PRICE: $19.99

Order this book

 

 

moonlight-dreamerswebThe Moonlight Dreamers

by Siobhan Curham

Amber, Maali, Sky and Rose are not like everyone else and they don’t want to be. Becoming friends gives them the courage to be themselves. Amber craves excitement and adventure. Instead, she’s being bullied at school for having two dads, and life at home isn’t much better. Inspired by Oscar Wilde, Amber realizes that among the millions of people in London, there must be others who feel the same as she does; other dreamers – moonlight dreamers. After chance encounters with Maali, Sky and Rose, Amber soon recruits the three girls to the Moonlight Dreamers. An inspirational, heart-warming book about four girls trying to find their place in the world. (Young Adult)

STYLE: Paperback | PRICE: $16.99

Order this book

book-of-pearlwebThe Book of Pearl

by Timothee de Fombelle

An ode to the power of storytelling by one of France’s greatest children’s writer. A compelling story of a first love that defines a lifetime; perfect for fans of David Levithan, told with the intricate and beautiful writing style of bestselling author Timothee de Fombelle. Joshua Pearl is from a world that our own no longer believes in. He knows that his great love is waiting for him in that distant place, but he is trapped in our time. As his memories begin to fade, he discovers strange objects, tiny fragments of a story from a long time ago. Can Joshua remember the past and believe in his own story before his love is lost forever? (Young Adult)

STYLE: Paperback | PRICE: $19.99

Order this book

Withering by Sea book coverWithering by Sea

by Judith Rossell

Eleven year old orphan Stella Montgomery lives with her three dreadful aunts in the Majestic Hotel in the town of Weathering by Sea. Condemned to a routine of French conversation lessons, deportment and needlepoint, Stella takes every opportunity to dream of foreign places and exciting adventures. One day, hiding in the hotel’s conservatory, Stella observes another guest, the elderly Mr Filbert, hide a small package among the pot plants. Later that night thieves enter the hotel and Mr Filbert is pursued by them. He spots Stella in the conservatory where she has returned to retrieve her atlas, and pleads with her to take the package and keep it safe. Thus begins Stella’s adventures, which will see her kidnapped by the evil Professor, befriended by brave Gert and vulnerable Ben, and aided by kindly Mr Capelli and his troupe of singing cats. This beautifully illustrated novel would suit children in middle to upper primary school and deserves the plaudits it has received.

STYLE: Hardback | PRICE: $19.99

Order this book

further advetures of the oal and the pussycat imageThe Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussycat

by Julia Donaldson

The Owl and the Pussycat went to sleep, by the light of the moon so pale. Their beautiful ring was tied with string in a bow round the Pussy-cat’s tail. Yet rings are too easily stolen, and in Julia Donaldson’s beautiful follow-up to the Edward Lear classic, the Owl and the Pussycat must travel far from the safety of the Bong-tree glade as their search for the thief leads them across the sea, to the Chankly Bore and beyond. Julia has always loved Lear’s verse and story-telling, and this wonderful new adventure will enchant Pobbles and children alike.

STYLE: Hardcover | PRICE: $19.99

Order this book

 


View our Summer 2016/2017 catalogue ➲

PLEASE NOTE: Prices quoted are in Australian dollars and include GST for Australian customers. Mail order requests will charged A$5 for delivery anywhere in Australia. Overseas delivery costs will vary according to weight and the delivery service used. Deliveries to Asia, New Zealand or elsewhere in the world will be billed in Australian or US dollars, excluding GSTand must be paid in advance by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Amex or Diners). At this time, this must be done by email. If you are concerned about communicating your credit card details by email you can break the number into two separate emails or write, fax or telephone us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *